Ten Artists for 2012: #10 – Brown Brogues

So, here are my ten tips for 2012. A bit like the BBC list, the artists in question cannot have released an album at this point, or had a Top 20 single (I’m assuming none of them have – I’m not sure I’d know how to check this fact) or be already famous like an X-Factor moron.

I posted a Top 10 for 2011 last year, with mixed results. While Ringo Deathstarr and The Crookes seem to be doing very nicely for themselves, MAY68 have since split up and my top choice – Duologue – haven’t exactly ripped up trees. Oh well.

10. Brown Brogues

Earlier this year I was lucky enough to interview Arctic Monkeys. While chatting with Alex Turner I asked him which new bands he’d been impressed by. Without a moment’s hesitation he said “Brown Brogues” – which had me scrabbling around on YouTube later in the day. Brown Brogues are Mark Vernon and Ben Mather and are from Wigan. Apparently, they hate Wigan. They make a lot of noise. But it is a visceral, heart-thumping, adrenaline-shot of electric noise that make forty-something men smile. Their single ‘Wildman’ is full of vicious intent, with vocalist Vernon at his snarling best over a rush of stormy guitars.

To listen to Brown Brogues, check out their Soundcloud page: http://soundcloud.com/brown-brogues

 

About John Freeman

I'm a music fan and have been writing for publications and websites since 2008. These include Ireland's AU magazine, Clash magazine and The Quietus website. View all posts by John Freeman

Leave a Reply

